I’ve Been Waiting All My Life

All I know is, darling, I was made for loving you.

Question: What keeps you from leaving each other?

Olympia:

We talk about forever a lot.

We’ve romanticized the concept of forever with our vampires and werewolves and demigods.

Forever is such a beautiful fatasy, but people don’t really undertand how long it is. I’m not talking about the length of it, I’m talking about the reality that every single day that you spend living on this earth might be either a waste or a success, depending on who you end it with. That’s your forever. And whether it ends in 50 years or in 20 days, it’s a long time.

That’s the thing. It’s normal to disagree with your soulmate. It’s normal to hear people doubting the foundation and future of your relationship. It’s normal to wonder what life would’ve been like if you had never met.

I’ll tell you my secret to dealing with all of it. I remember that I have a forever to look forward too. I need someone beside me when it’s all over and there is no one else in the universe that I want by my side.

I’ve known from the start that ours would be a story worth reading. His soul completes, complements, and encompasses mine. My heart sat in it’s cage for years, unwilling to trust even those who proved trustworthy. But the moment he walked into my life, my heart flew out of my chest with a reckless abandon that should have left it broken and destroyed….but he caught it. He caught my heart and he has managed to take much better care of it than I was ever able to.

I’m the rib that was removed from his side.

What keeps me from leaving him?

Try walking away without your heart in your chest. I know for certain that you wouldn’t get very far.

He has my heart and he’s going to hold onto it for the rest of my ever.

Until you’ve loved someone as much as I love him, you’ll never understand that truly leaving isn’t even an option.

 

Lucas:

A lot of people, when faced with this question, say that love keeps them from leaving each other. I’ve learned that sometimes love alone isn’t enough, but love combined with the will to work together and join forces to accomplish a common goal is almost always more than enough.

Olympia and I have had amazing times and some pretty terrible times, but even through the down times we haven’t strayed from our goal: to make this work. There’s nothing more in the world that I want than to be an old man with the same woman I’ve loved since I was a young man, and I want it with her.

I don’t want to leave her, ever. Hearing her voice first thing in the morning, even if it is a tired series of strange noises, is the best start to my day. Being with her has been both the hardest and easiest thing I’ve ever done.

It’s been incredibly easy because we connect on so many levels, we have a friendship within our relationship, and we constantly laugh. Laughter is one of the keys to staying happy and positive within a relationship. We share as much as we can with each other from our day, some days more than others depending on our schedule, but the main point is keeping each other in the loop of our lives and not even having to question that we love each other.

This relationship has also been hard, but in the best way possible. It’s made me grow as a human being, sometimes when I didn’t really want to. It made maturity kick in, and helped me be able to manage more, and become a bit more aware of myself and the effects I can have on other people, whether it’s her or someone else. She’s taught me a lot about living life, and I’m so thankful for that. While incorporating many changes in my life can be challenging at times, it’s remarkable that she’s helped me embrace it because there was a time in my life where I was stagnant. Thanks to a combination of her support and high (but fair) expectations of me, I’ve grown immensely.

All of these things, the love, compassion, learning, friendship, intimacy, trust, comfort and of course her beautiful face, prevent me from leaving her. She’s special, the most special person I’ve come across in this crazy world, so I keep her close because I’m the luckiest man alive. One year later, I can easily say that becoming her boyfriend was one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life so far, and it’s been an amazing year. She’s not going anywhere and I plan on many more blog posts professing my love.

Leave a Reply

