This will be our legacy

“Yesterday does not define you. I can break the chains that bind you.

Question: When was a time that he believed in you when no one else would?

Olympia:

Right now.

That’s my answer.

Right now he’s believing in me when other people won’t.

All my life, I’ve heard people say that doors will always open for me if I try hard enough at whatever I do. I also heard that if no door opens, I can always break through a window.

That’s the kind of thing you hear a lot when you’re a kid. It’s the kind of thing that makes you believe in everything. Well, I learned at a very young age that, despite all of the open doors and windows around me, I was being shoved through one door. I lost the right to choose my path. My path was chosen for me and I didn’t fight it, much as I wanted to.

So many years have passed me by and for the first time in my life, someone is telling me that there’s a tiny window that I can shimmy through. There’s a tiny window that will fill the void that’s consuming my chest. There’s a tiny window between me and my true passions.

He is the love of my life. He is my everything and my always. He is my mirror and my rock. He’s lifting me up so I can climb through. It’s hurting his shoulders, but he’s holding me up high so that one day, when I’m good and ready, I’ll be able to climb through my little window.

I would never have known that this window existed if he hadn’t shown it to me. That’s the thing about having a soulmate. They are your eyes when you can’t see the world clearly.

So I’m going to do it.

By George, I’m going to chase my dreams.

He’s going to help me.

I’m terrified…but I have to climb though that window.

Lucas:

There’s been a lot of times in my life where I have felt completely alone. I probably wasn’t, but sometimes it can be hard for me to reach out to people when I need someone to have faith in me so I’ve become accustomed to having faith in myself. It’s not always enough though; the support of someone close to you can give you that extra push to do what’s best, and she has been that person for me.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s been times where we have both been brutally honest with each other about things, and in those times it can be easy to feel alone and hurt but we have always believed in each other even if we didn’t agree whole-heartedly with what we were doing.

When Olympia and I first met, I wasn’t in school. I had been out for about a year and a half and I was procrastinating on going back. More than anything I felt stuck in a rut, trapped in my life that consisted of minimum-wage pay and feeling too tired to do anything to better myself. I was fit, but not as fit as I used to be, and I had been freshly hurt. A combination of all of these things had me feeling down, but all I knew was to get up, go to work, come home, sleep, and repeat.

I knew that I had to amount to more than this. Throughout high school I knew I wasn’t one of those kids that would just graduate and not go any further. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I am meant to do more. She could see that I was squandering my potential in almost every aspect of my life, and instead of running like most people would, she wanted to help me do a few things.

She wanted me to first see that this life wasn’t meant for me. She wanted me to want to take control and do what I needed to do to get my education and self-love back on track. We would talk late into the night on the phone, about all the things I wanted to be better at. She never once told me that I needed to do these things, and she never told me she wouldn’t be here if I didn’t do these things quickly. For once, someone had gotten through to me and made me break free from the trap that my life had become.

All the pointless wasting of money and doing things that weren’t going to benefit me and working 50 hours at a place that didn’t care for my plan seemed ludicrous all of a sudden. Initially I was a little upset with myself, but I realized that I had someone that cared for me more than I knew. One day she told me that we were going downtown to my campus and figure out my school situation. Just like that, my education at the school that I thought was too prestigious for me was a reality again, and I felt like I could do it.

After I left school, I felt like people wrote me off. Some people would talk to me and make jokes like all I did in life was slack off. My parents acted like I didn’t care for my future. People in general thought that I would be stuck in a retail job for life. I actually even lost people who were important to me at the time because they thought that I wasn’t going anywhere. Olympia believed in me from the beginning. When others thought I was stupid, she was telling me that I was one of the smartest people she had ever met.

She believed in me when no one else would. When everyone wrote me off, she stood by my side and demanded that I want the life I deserve. Her dedication brought me to so many new levels, I feel so much better, mentally, physically, and emotionally since I got back into school and I attribute that to the one person who stuck by me when the sky was falling.

I believe in this young woman more than anything, and I know that because of the great person she is, she will do amazing things and I’ll have court-side seats for the show. I’ll spend the rest of my life thanking her for everything she’s done for me. I thought I had love before, but until she helped me realize my true potential, I had never felt true love like I do today. I truly believe she’ll always be here to guide me when I’m lost, and that’s invaluable to me.

One thought on “This will be our legacy

Leave a Reply

