Take Time

Baby girl, take time

What was your first date like?

Olympia:

Oh my word, where do I begin? Have you ever held your breath for a really long time? I’m not talking like 10 seconds, I mean like a solid minute or two. That exaggerated exhale and sharp intake of air that happens, that’s what our first date was like.

To most people, a month isn’t really a long time to wait for something. Well, those people have never met him. After one conversation with him, everything got really confusing. How had I spent my life before him without him? It was like no one had ever heard the words coming out of my mouth until he showed up..When you feel that way about someone, waiting a month to go on a date is an aggressive torturing device.

But I waited. I had to. I had finals at the end of the month and I couldn’t get distracted. I thought he’d get bored and leave. Why on earth should any guy have to wait for a date with me? I’m really not that special. Just kidding, I’m amazing #StayHumble.

He waited though. And on the day of my last final, he was waiting of me. I saw him walking towards me, but before he saw me, I sprinted into the nearest building. Any females reading this should understand. I had just walked out of a final, my pores were emitting stress. I had to run to the bathroom to get my life together…as much as I could.

After my little prep session, I walked up behind him and surprised him. I remember exactly how he looked at me. It was like he’d spent 50 years stuck on an island eating nothing but coconuts, and for the first time, he was standing in front of a piping hot plate of steak and scallops. He should’ve kissed me right away, but he did something better, he wrapped me in a hug. He didn’t know at the time, but what he did in that moment was inform me and assure me that there was nowhere else I would be safer in this world. And then, he kissed me and I let the universe spin for a while because for the first time in forever, I didn’t feel alone.

I would love nothing more than to tell you exactly what we did on our first date, but trust me, the boy I love is going to take care of that. I just had to let you know what the first moment of our first date felt like.

I had to let you know that he jumped and I jumped right alongside him.

I had to let you know that the rest of it was only possible because our first moments together allowed them to be so.

I had to let you know that I knew from the start that he was the one for me.

And I had to let you know that after our first date, I realized something.

I realized that when you love someone as much as I love him, the only thing left to do is marry him.

Lucas :

I felt so rushed on every other date I’ve had. Like I had someone to impress (in theory I guess you do want to impress them), but why should I be trying to impress someone I already think is cool? If they are as cool and amazing as I perceived them to be, they’d probably accept me as a person, thus stressing about impressing them shouldn’t be happening.

Not one minute of my first date with Olympia was spent wondering if I was good enough or presenting myself well. I was myself. I did and said what I wanted, and I knew that she was doing the same because for the first time in months, I had felt like I was actually hitting it off with someone. Even stronger than I had in the past, which was great to feel.

Our first date was absolutely, insanely brilliant. I had commuted to her campus, which I had never been to before that day or even really acknowledged existed. I was lost and confused (okay I’m being a little dramatic but just deal with it) in this strange place, where wild deer run around and there’s actual trees on campus (my campus is lodged in the middle of metro Toronto so this was odd but refreshing). I sat on this boulder waiting for her, by the bus stop, because that was the only landmark I had successfully remembered the location of. Then I saw her.

She was wearing this red thing (which I had only learned 24 hours before was called a “romper”) that was so beautiful against the complexion of her skin. She had a matching red bow in her hair, and she was strutting like she was on top of the world (well obviously she was, she was going on a date with me). I wanted to kiss her right away. How cool would that have been if our lips were the first thing that had ever touched? But I didn’t, I hugged her like I had been missing her for years, even though this was the first time she had crossed my sight in person. The kiss followed, and it was soft, passionate, not too lengthy (we were at a bus stop, not exactly an ideal kissing habitat), but just long enough that I could map out her beautiful lips by feel.

 I clasped her hand in mine, and we walked off to my private campus tour with my new tour guide/special person. She took me to a spot upstairs on the third floor of one of the buildings, her favourite spot because it’s quiet. This is where she gave me a letter, which included a double pop-culture reference to the Titanic and Gilmore Girls, asking me to jump with her into what is now such a big part of my life.

I jumped.

Then we jumped into some tequila shots. Don’t ask me why I thought taking shots on a first date at 3:00pm was a good idea, but I thought it was brilliant. We got on a bus and headed over to a big mall, and looked through our favourite stores, got pina colada smoothies, and went to go see… dun dun dun… THE JUNGLE BOOK in Ultra AVX! It was amazing, it was hard for me to pay attention to the movie because of the human next to me, but she kept me focused and we enjoyed it so much!

We took pictures in a photo booth (which I still have to this day), and we played around on arcade machines without actually paying for them. We were having a blast, and more importantly I could see how happy we were making each other. Finally, we went to Chapters, where we explored aisles of books and searched for one of her favourites. We couldn’t find the book, but we had a really fun time in the religious aisle, isn’t that right babe? Who knew that this girl would have me interested in biblical history.

8 hours later, and I was on a bus headed home, thinking about how I had one of the best days of my life.

I’m going to just summarize it with one statement: It was exactly what I needed, at exactly the right time, with exactly the right person, and I’ll always need it.

Leave a Reply

