Dream Another Dream

This is what we do to get by. We’re always chasing our paradise.

Question: What made you decide to chase paradise with each other?

Olympia:

These days “paradise” is so subjective. Some people see rainbows, others see beaches, and a few might see mountains or the edge of the world as depicted by a horizon.

I’m Christian, so my paradise is Heaven. I’ve been searching for it all my life, but now, being with my soulmate, it’s different. I don’t just want it for me, I want it for both of us.

Every time I close my eyes, I picture him there right beside me doing the things that are second nature to him. Things like: telling me that he’ll never leave my side; asking me if I still love him every couple minutes (like I’m going to spontaneously change my mind about him); he never stands beside me without holding my hand in his. To strangers, it’s just a couple thing. We know better. Lacing our fingers together, keeps us attached. It’s more natural than breathing. No discomfort. No sweaty palms. No aching wrists. Just fingers that have yearned for each other for way too long.

I can’t tell you why or how I chose him. It’s not a secret ot anything, I really don’t have the answer. One day, I shut my eyes and there he was. Now I can’t imagine anything else being behind my closed lids.

Honestly, I don’t know exactly what paradise is going to look like, but I don’t care. I mean, just take a look at the beautiful man I get to bring along with me.

It’s so simple. He’s lacing his fingers through mine and we’re walking into paradise together…come hell or high water.

Lucas:

Paradise to me isn’t a world where everything is perfect. An existence in which everything remained as flawless as the beginning of a relationship would lead to us being stagnant and that’s the last thing I’d ever want. So before I go into why I chase paradise with her, I must first discuss what paradise is to me.

When I was younger and in less mature relationships, I always wanted this utopian state of being, one where I never felt any change or unrest. One where I could always get exactly what I wanted, when I wanted. As I matured, and people left and entered my life, I learned that embracing people in their purest form, although it can be extremely difficult at times, is often the most satisfying way to go about interacting with people who we are fond of.

Paradise to me is a life where my love is comfortable being herself, and where she is comfortable dealing with me as a whole package: the good, bad and ugly. Believe it or not, I’ve never had that with anyone and the idea of working towards it makes me nervous in the best way. Someday I’ll have achieved it, with Olympia, the only woman in my life who has ever taken the time and effort to really get to know me on every single level of my being.

Like any other couple we go through phases. We go through periods of time where we might be forgetful of things that make the other happy, or where we get caught up in the problems in our own lives and become a little distracted. The goal, at the end of the day, without being spoken is always to end up together in our place in the future.

Why her? Out of all the women in the world who I’ve met, why is she the one I chose to embark on this journey towards paradise with? It’s really quite simple… She glows with enthusiasm that is unmatched by anyone I’ve ever encountered. Even when she’s down, she still glimmers softly, and there isn’t anyone else in the world who I would work with towards an end goal of togetherness.

You can’t achieve paradise with someone overnight, it’s an everlasting process that can’t be measured by anyone but yourself. I know that on the road I’ve been on for the last 9 months, with the beautiful girl I’ve been accompanied by, paradise is feeling more than within reach.

Leave a Reply

